image of people working IWCC  
link to home page
Pat Quinn, Governor
Pat Quinn, Governor

IWCC Links Skip to Content Skip to State Links

 Annual Report
 Appellate Court
 Opinions
 Assessments
 Basic Info
 Benefit Rates
 Board meetings
 Calendars &
 Call Sheets
 Case Info
 Commission
 Decisions
 Contact
 Information
 español
 Forms
 Fraud

 Freedom of
 Information Act

 Frequently
 Asked
 Questions

 Handbook

 Injured Workers'
 Benefit Fund

 Insurance
 Jobs
 Links
 Medical Fees
 Meetings

 News

 Occupational
 Diseases Act

 Polski

 Rate
 Adjustment Fund
 Rules
 Self-Insurance
 Small Business
 Advisory

 Surchange
 Settlement
 Workers'
 Compensation
 Act
Inspector General

 Fraud  


TABLE OF CONTENTS

Overview
Contact information
2005 law on workers' compensation fraud
WC Fraud Unit's accomplishments


Overview

It is illegal for anyone—a worker, employer, insurance carrier, medical provider—to intentionally do any of the following:

• Make a false claim for any w.c. benefit;

• Make a false statement in order to obtain or deny benefits;

• Make a false statement in order to prevent someone from filing a legitimate claim;

• Make a false certificate of insurance as proof of insurance;

• Make a false statement in order to obtain w.c. insurance at less than the proper rate;

• Make a false statement in order to obtain approval to self-insure or reduce the security required to self-insure;

• Make a false statement to the state’s fraud and noncompliance investigation staff in the course of an investigation;

• Help someone commit any of the crimes listed above;

• Intentionally present a bill for medical services that were not provided. 

• Move, destroy, or conceal assets so as to avoid payment of a claim.

A “statement” includes any writing, notice, proof of injury, or any medical bill, record, report, or test result. 

Anyone found guilty of any of these actions is guilty of a crime, ranging from a misdemeanor to a Class 1 felony. The guilty party may be sent to jail, and shall be required to pay complete restitution, including court costs and attorney fees.


Contact information

To report on a potentially fraudulent situation, contact:

Illinois Department of Insurance
Workers' Compensation Fraud Unit
William Blumthal, Supervisor

DOI.WorkCompFraud@illinois.gov
toll-free 877/923-8648

Chicago Office:
122 S. Michigan Ave., 19th Floor
Chicago, IL 60603

Springfield Office:
320 W. Washington
Springfield, IL 62786

To report on a potentially fraudulent situation involving a State of Illinois employee, call the State's risk management firm, TriStar, at 855/495-1550.

You must provide enough specific information, including your name and contact information, to cause the unit to open an investigation.  Anyone who intentionally makes a false report is guilty of a Class A misdemeanor, punishable by up to 12 months imprisonment and a $2,500 fine.

 

WC Fraud Unit's accomplishments

The Illinois Department of Insurance WC Fraud Unit investigates cases, while the Illinois Attorney General or the county State's Attorney decides whether to prosecute.  To see the list of convictions, click hereTo read the annual reports, click here.

If you have questions about the annual report, contact the Illinois Department of Insurance fraud unit (312/814-5394 or toll-free 877/923-8648). 

 

Copyright 2002 State of Illinois   Privacy Statement   Contact Us