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Portions of Illinois Workers’ Compensation Act 
Related to Medical Care 

805 ILCS 305 
Full Act is available at 
http://www.ilga.gov/legislation/ilcs/ilcs3.asp?ActID=2430&ChapAct=820%E2%80%A0ILCS%E2%80%A0305/&ChapterID=
68&ChapterName=EMPLOYMENT&ActName=Workers%27+Compensation+Act.  
 

§8(a): Employer to Pay Necessary Medical Expenses 
 

Section 8.  The amount of compensation which shall be paid to the employee for an accidental injury not resulting 
in death is: 
 

(a) The employer shall provide and pay the negotiated rate, if applicable, or the lesser of the health care provider's 
actual charges or according to a fee schedule, subject to Section 8.2, in effect at the time the service was 
rendered for all the necessary first aid, medical and surgical services, and all necessary medical, surgical and 
hospital services thereafter incurred, limited, however, to that which is reasonably required to cure or relieve 
from the effects of the accidental injury, even if a health care provider sells, transfers, or otherwise assigns an 
account receivable for procedures, treatments, or services covered under this Act.  If the employer does not 
dispute payment of first aid, medical, surgical, and hospital services, the employer shall make such payment to 
the provider on behalf of the employee.  The employer shall also pay for treatment, instruction and training 
necessary for the physical, mental and vocational rehabilitation of the employee, including all maintenance 
costs and expenses incidental thereto.  If as a result of the injury the employee is unable to be self-sufficient the 
employer shall further pay for such maintenance or institutional care as shall be required. 

 

Employee Choice/Panel of Physicians 
 

 The employee may at any time elect to secure his own physician, surgeon and hospital services at the 
employer’s expense, or, 

 

 Upon agreement between the employer and the employees, or the employees’ exclusive representative, and 
subject to the approval of the Illinois Workers’ Compensation Commission, the employer shall maintain a list 
of physicians, to be known as a Panel of Physicians, who are accessible to the employees.  The employer shall 
post this list in a place or places easily accessible to his employees.  The employee shall have the right to make 
an alternative choice of physician from such Panel if he is not satisfied with the physician first selected.  If, due 
to the nature of the injury or its occurrence away from the employer’s place of business, the employee is unable 
to make a selection from the Panel, the selection process from the Panel shall not apply.  The physician selected 
from the Panel may arrange for any consultation, referral or other specialized medical services outside the 
Panel at the employer’s expense.  Provided that, in the event the Commission shall find that a doctor selected 
by the employee is rendering improper or inadequate care, the Commission may order the employee to select 
another doctor certified or qualified in the medical field for which treatment is required.  If the employee 
refuses to make such change the Commission may relieve the employer of his obligation to pay the doctor’s 
charges from the date of refusal to the date of compliance. 

 

Vocational Rehabilitation Counselors Need Certification 
 

 Any vocational rehabilitation counselors who provide service under this Act shall have appropriate 
certifications which designate the counselor as qualified to render opinions relating to vocational rehabilitation.  
Vocational rehabilitation may include, but is not limited to, counseling for job searches, supervising a job 
search program, and vocational retraining including education at an accredited learning institution.  The 
employee or employer may petition to the Commission to decide disputes relating to vocational rehabilitation 
and the Commission shall resolve any such dispute, including payment of the vocational rehabilitation program 
by the employer. 

 

Maintenance; TPD 
 

 The maintenance benefit shall not be less than the temporary total disability rate determined for the employee.  
In addition, maintenance shall include costs and expenses incidental to the vocational rehabilitation program. 

 

 When the employee is working light duty on a part-time basis or full-time basis and earns less than he or she 
would be earning if employed in the full capacity of the job or jobs, then the employee shall be entitled to 
temporary partial disability benefits.  Temporary partial disability benefits shall be equal to two-thirds of the 
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difference between the average amount that the employee would be able to earn in the full performance of his 
or her duties in the occupation in which he or she was engaged at the time of accident and the gross amount 
which he or she is earning in the modified job provided to the employee by the employer or in any other job 
that the employee is working. 

 

Access to Medical Reports 
 

 Every hospital, physician, surgeon or other person rendering treatment or services in accordance with the 
provisions of this Section shall upon written request furnish full and complete reports thereof to, and permit 
their records to be copied by, the employer, the employee or his dependents, as the case may be, or any other 
party to any proceeding for compensation before the Commission, or their attorneys. 

 

Medical Care 
 

 Notwithstanding the foregoing, the employer's liability to pay for such medical services selected by the 
employee shall be limited to: 

 

(1) all first aid and emergency treatment; plus 
(2) all medical, surgical and hospital services provided by the physician, surgeon or hospital initially chosen by 

the employee or by any other physician, consultant, expert, institution or other provider of services 
recommended by said initial service provider or any subsequent provider of medical services in the chain of 
referrals from said initial service provider; plus 

(3) all medical, surgical and hospital services provided by any second physician, surgeon or hospital 
subsequently chosen by the employee or by any other physician, consultant, expert, institution or other 
provider of services recommended by said second service provider or any subsequent provider of medical 
services in the chain of referrals from said second service provider.  Thereafter the employer shall select 
and pay for all necessary medical, surgical and hospital treatment and the employee may not select a 
provider of medical services at the employer’s expense unless the employer agrees to such selection.  At 
any time the employee may obtain any medical treatment he desires at his own expense.  This paragraph 
shall not affect the duty to pay for rehabilitation referred to above. 

(4) The following shall apply for injuries occurring on or after June 28, 2011 (the effective date of Public Act 
97-18) and only when an employer has an approved preferred provider program pursuant to Section 8.1a on 
the date the employee sustained his or her accidental injuries: 
(A) The employer shall, in writing, on a form promulgated by the Commission, inform the employee of the 

preferred provider program; 
(B) Subsequent to the report of an injury by an employee, the employee may choose in writing at any time 

to decline the preferred provider program, in which case that would constitute one of the two choices of 
medical providers to which the employee is entitled under subsection (a)(2) or (a)(3); and 

(C) Prior to the report of an injury by an employee, when an employee chooses non-emergency treatment 
from a provider not within the preferred provider program, that would constitute the employee's one 
choice of medical providers to which the employee is entitled under subsection (a)(2) or (a)(3). 

 

 When an employer and employee so agree in writing, nothing in this Act prevents an employee whose 
injury or disability has been established under this Act, from relying in good faith, on treatment by prayer 
or spiritual means alone, in accordance with the tenets and practice of a recognized church or religious 
denomination, by a duly accredited practitioner thereof, and having nursing services appropriate therewith, 
without suffering loss or diminution of the compensation benefits under this Act. However, the employee 
shall submit to all physical examinations required by this Act.  The cost of such treatment and nursing care 
shall be paid by the employee unless the employer agrees to make such payment. 

 

 Where the accidental injury results in the amputation of an arm, hand, leg or foot, or the enucleation of an 
eye, or the loss of any of the natural teeth, the employer shall furnish an artificial of any such members lost 
or damaged in accidental injury arising out of and in the course of employment, and shall also furnish the 
necessary braces in all proper and necessary cases.  In cases of the loss of a member or members by 
amputation, the employer shall, whenever necessary, maintain in good repair, refit or replace the artificial 
limbs during the lifetime of the employee.  Where the accidental injury accompanied by physical injury 
results in damage to a denture, eye glasses or contact eye lenses, or where the accidental injury results in 
damage to an artificial member, the employer shall replace or repair such denture, glasses, lenses, or 
artificial member. 
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 The furnishing by the employer of any such services or appliances is not an admission of liability on the 
part of the employer to pay compensation. 

 

 The furnishing of any such services or appliances or the servicing thereof by the employer is not the 
payment of compensation. 

 
Text deleted… 
 

§8(j): Benefits Received Under Group Health Plan 
 

8(j) 
1. In the event the injured employee receives benefits, including medical, surgical or hospital benefits under 

any group plan covering non-occupational disabilities contributed to wholly or partially by the employer, 
which benefits should not have been payable if any rights of recovery existed under this Act, then such 
amounts so paid to the employee from any such group plan as shall be consistent with, and limited to, the 
provisions of paragraph 2 hereof, shall be credited to or against any compensation payment for temporary 
total incapacity for work or any medical, surgical or hospital benefits made or to be made under this Act. In 
such event, the period of time for giving notice of accidental injury and filing application for adjustment of 
claim does not commence to run until the termination of such payments.  This paragraph does not apply to 
payments made under any group plan which would have been payable irrespective of an accidental injury 
under this Act.  Any employer receiving such credit shall keep such employee safe and harmless from any 
and all claims or liabilities that may be made against him by reason of having received such payments only 
to the extent of such credit. 

 

 Any excess benefits paid to or on behalf of a State employee by the State Employees’ Retirement System 
under Article 14 of the Illinois Pension Code on a death claim or disputed disability claim shall be credited 
against any payments made or to be made by the State of Illinois to or on behalf of such employee under 
this Act, except for payments for medical expenses which have already been incurred at the time of the 
award.  The State of Illinois shall directly reimburse the State Employees’ Retirement System to the extent 
of such credit. 

2. Nothing contained in this Act shall be construed to give the employer or the insurance carrier the right to 
credit for any benefits or payments received by the employee other than compensation payments provided 
by this Act, and where the employee receives payments other than compensation payments, whether as full 
or partial salary, group insurance benefits, bonuses, annuities or any other payments, the employer or 
insurance carrier shall receive credit for each such payment only to the extent of the compensation that 
would have been payable during the period covered by such payment. 

3. The extension of time for the filing of an Application for Adjustment of Claim as provided in paragraph 1 
above shall not apply to those cases where the time for such filing had expired prior to the date on which 
payments or benefits enumerated herein have been initiated or resumed.  Provided however that this 
paragraph 3 shall apply only to cases wherein the payments or benefits herein above enumerated shall be 
received after July 1, 1969.   

(Source: P.A. 97-18, eff. 6-28-11; 97-268, eff. 8-8-11; 97-813, eff. 7-13-12.) 
 

§8.1a: Preferred Provider Program 
 

Section 8.1a. Preferred provider programs. Starting on the effective date of this amendatory Act of the 97th General 
Assembly, to satisfy its liabilities under this Act for the provision of medical treatment to injured employees, an 
employer may utilize a preferred provider program approved by the Illinois Department of Insurance as in 
compliance with Sections 370k, 370l, 370m, and 370p of Article XX-1/2 of the Illinois Insurance Code. For the 
purposes of compliance with these Sections, the employee shall be considered the "beneficiary" and the employer 
shall be considered the "insured". Employers and insurers contracting directly with providers or utilizing multiple 
preferred provider programs to implement a preferred provider program providing workers' compensation benefits 
shall be subject to the above requirements of Article XX-1/2 applicable to administrators with regard to such 
program, with the exception of Section 370l of the Illinois Insurance Code. 
 

(a) In addition to the above requirements of Article XX-1/2 of the Illinois Insurance Code, all preferred provider 
programs under this Section shall meet the following requirements: 
(1) The provider network shall include an adequate number of occupational and non-occupational providers. 
(2) The provider network shall include an adequate number and type of physicians or other providers to treat 
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common injuries experienced by injured workers in the geographic area where the employees reside. 
(3) Medical treatment for injuries shall be readily available at reasonable times to all employees. To the extent 

feasible, all medical treatment for injuries shall be readily accessible to all employees. 
(4) Physician compensation shall not be structured in order to achieve the goal of inappropriately reducing, 

delaying, or denying medical treatment or restricting access to medical treatment. 
(5) Before entering into any agreement under this Section, a program shall establish terms and conditions that 

must be met by noninstitutional providers wishing to enter into an agreement with the program. These 
terms and conditions may not discriminate unreasonably against or among noninstitutional providers. 
Neither difference in prices among noninstitutional providers produced by a process of individual 
negotiation nor price differences among other noninstitutional providers in different geographical areas or 
different specialties constitutes unreasonable discrimination. 

 

(b) The administrator of any preferred provider program under this Act that uses economic evaluation shall file 
with the Director of Insurance a description of any policies and procedures related to economic evaluation 
utilized by the program. The filing shall describe how these policies and procedures are used in utilization 
review, peer review, incentive and penalty programs, and in provider retention and termination decisions. The 
Director of Insurance may deny approval of any preferred provider program that uses any policy or procedure 
of economic evaluation to inappropriately reduce, delay or deny medical treatment, or to restrict access to 
medical treatment. Evaluation of providers based upon objective medical quality and patient outcome 
measurements, appropriate use of best clinical practices and evidence based medicine, and use of health 
information technology shall be permitted. If approved, the employer shall provide a copy of the filing to all 
participating providers. 
(1) The Director of the Department of Insurance shall make each administrator's filing available to the public 

upon request. The Director of the Department of Insurance may not publicly disclose any information 
submitted pursuant to this Section that is determined by the Director of the Department of Insurance to be 
confidential, proprietary, or trade secret information pursuant to State or federal law. 

(2) For the purposes of this subsection (b), "economic evaluation" shall mean any evaluation of a particular 
physician, provider, medical group, or individual practice association based in whole or in part on the 
economic costs or utilization of services associated with medical care provided or authorized by the 
physician, provider, medical group, or individual practice association.  Economic evaluation shall not 
include negotiated rates with a provider. 

 

(c) Except for the provisions of subsection (a)(4) of Section 8 and for injuries occurring on or after the effective 
date of this amendatory Act of the 97th General Assembly, an employee of an employer utilizing a preferred 
provider program shall only be allowed to select a participating network provider from the network. An 
employer shall be responsible for: (i) all first aid and emergency treatment; (ii) all medical, surgical, and 
hospital services provided by the participating network provider initially selected by the employee or by any 
other participating network provider recommended by the initial participating network provider or any 
subsequent participating network provider in the chain of referrals from the initial participating network 
provider; and (iii) all medical, surgical, and hospital services provided by the participating network provider 
subsequently chosen by the employee or by any other participating network provider recommended by the 
subsequent participating network provider or any subsequent participating network provider in the chain of 
referrals from the second participating network provider. An employer shall not be liable for services 
determined by the Commission not to be compensable. An employer shall not be liable for medical services 
provided by a nonauthorized provider when proper notice is provided to the injured worker. 

 

(1) When the injured employee notifies the employer of the injury or files a claim for workers' compensation 
with the employer, the employer shall notify the employee of his or her right to be treated by a physician of 
his or her choice from the preferred provider network established pursuant to this Section, and the method 
by which the list of participating network providers may be accessed by the employee, except as provided 
in subsection (a)(4) of Section 8. 

(2) Consistent with Article XX-1/2 of the Illinois Insurance Code, treatment by a specialist who is not a 
member of the preferred provider network shall be permitted on a case-by-case basis if the medical 
provider network does not contain a physician who can provide the approved treatment, and if the 
employee has complied with any pre-authorization requirements of the preferred provider network. Consent 
for the employee to visit an out-of-network provider may not be unreasonably withheld.  When a non-
network provider is authorized pursuant to this subparagraph (2), the non-network provider shall not hold 
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an employee liable for costs except as provided in subsection (e) of Section 8.2. 
(3) The Director shall not approve, and may withdraw prior approval of, a preferred provider program that fails 

to provide an injured employee with sufficient access to necessary treating physicians, surgeons, and 
specialists. 

 

(d) Except as provided in subsection (a)(4) of Section 8, upon a finding by the Commission that the care being 
rendered by the employee's second choice of provider within the employer's network is improper or inadequate, 
the employee may then choose a provider outside of the network at the employer's expense. The Commission 
shall issue a decision on any petition filed pursuant to this Section within 5 working days. 

 

(e) The Director of the Department of Insurance may promulgate such rules as are necessary to carry out the 
provisions of this Section relating to approval and regulation of preferred provider programs.   

(Source: P.A. 97-18, eff. 6-28-11.) 
 

§8.1b: Determination of PPD 
 

Sec. 8.1b. Determination of permanent partial disability. 
For accidental injuries that occur on or after September 1, 2011, permanent partial disability shall be established 
using the following criteria: 
 

(a) A physician licensed to practice medicine in all of its branches preparing a permanent partial disability 
impairment report shall report the level of impairment in writing. The report shall include an evaluation of 
medically defined and professionally appropriate measurements of impairment that include, but are not limited 
to: loss of range of motion; loss of strength; measured atrophy of tissue mass consistent with the injury; and any 
other measurements that establish the nature and extent of the impairment. The most current edition of the 
American Medical Association's "Guides to the Evaluation of Permanent Impairment" shall be used by the 
physician in determining the level of impairment. 

 

(b) In determining the level of permanent partial disability, the Commission shall base its determination on the 
following factors: (i) the reported level of impairment pursuant to subsection (a); (ii) the occupation of the 
injured employee; (iii) the age of the employee at the time of the injury; (iv) the employee's future earning 
capacity; and (v) evidence of disability corroborated by the treating medical records. No single enumerated 
factor shall be the sole determinant of disability. In determining the level of disability, the relevance and weight 
of any factors used in addition to the level of impairment as reported by the physician must be explained in a 
written order.  
(Source: P.A. 97-18, eff. 6-28-11.) 

 

§8.2: Medical Fee Schedule 
 

Section 8.2.  Fee schedule.  
(a) Except as provided for in subsection (c), for procedures, treatments, or services covered under this Act and 

rendered or to be rendered on and after February 1, 2006, the maximum allowable payment shall be 90% of the 
80th percentile of charges and fees as determined by the Commission utilizing information provided by 
employers' and insurers' national databases, with a minimum of 12,000,000 Illinois line item charges and fees 
comprised of health care provider and hospital charges and fees as of August 1, 2004 but not earlier than 
August 1, 2002.  These charges and fees are provider billed amounts and shall not include discounted charges. 
The 80th percentile is the point on an ordered data set from low to high such that 80% of the cases are below or 
equal to that point and at most 20% are above or equal to that point.  The Commission shall adjust these 
historical charges and fees as of August 1, 2004 by the Consumer Price Index-U for the period August 1, 2004 
through September 30, 2005.  The Commission shall establish fee schedules for procedures, treatments, or 
services for hospital inpatient, hospital outpatient, emergency room and trauma, ambulatory surgical treatment 
centers, and professional services.  These charges and fees shall be designated by geozip or any smaller 
geographic unit.  The data shall in no way identify or tend to identify any patient, employer, or health care 
provider.  As used in this Section, "geozip" means a three-digit zip code based on data similarities, 
geographical similarities, and frequencies.  A geozip does not cross state boundaries. As used in this Section, 
"three-digit zip code" means a geographic area in which all zip codes have the same first 3 digits.  If a geozip 
does not have the necessary number of charges and fees to calculate a valid percentile for a specific procedure, 
treatment, or service, the Commission may combine data from the geozip with up to 4 other geozips that are 
demographically and economically similar and exhibit similarities in data and frequencies until the 
Commission reaches 9 charges or fees for that specific procedure, treatment, or service.  In cases where the 
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compiled data contains less than 9 charges or fees for a procedure, treatment, or service, reimbursement shall 
occur at 76% of charges and fees as determined by the Commission in a manner consistent with the provisions 
of this paragraph.  Providers of out-of-state procedures, treatments, services, products, or supplies shall be 
reimbursed at the lesser of that state's fee schedule amount or the fee schedule amount for the region in which 
the employee resides. If no fee schedule exists in that state, the provider shall be reimbursed at the lesser of the 
actual charge or the fee schedule amount for the region in which the employee resides. Not later than 
September 30 in 2006 and each year thereafter, the Commission shall automatically increase or decrease the 
maximum allowable payment for a procedure, treatment, or service established and in effect on January 1 of 
that year by the percentage change in the Consumer Price Index-U for the 12 month period ending August 31 of 
that year.  The increase or decrease shall become effective on January 1 of the following year.  As used in this 
Section, "Consumer Price Index-U" means the index published by the Bureau of Labor Statistics of the U.S. 
Department of Labor, that measures the average change in prices of all goods and services purchased by all 
urban consumers, U.S. city average, all items, 1982-84=100. 

 

(a-1) Notwithstanding the provisions of subsection (a) and unless otherwise indicated, the following provisions 
shall apply to the medical fee schedule starting on September 1, 2011: 
(1) The Commission shall establish and maintain fee schedules for procedures, treatments, products, services, 

or supplies for hospital inpatient, hospital outpatient, emergency room, ambulatory surgical treatment 
centers, accredited ambulatory surgical treatment facilities, prescriptions filled and dispensed outside of a 
licensed pharmacy, dental services, and professional services. This fee schedule shall be based on the fee 
schedule amounts already established by the Commission pursuant to subsection (a) of this Section. 
However, starting on January 1, 2012, these fee schedule amounts shall be grouped into geographic regions 
in the following manner: 
(A) Four regions for non-hospital fee schedule amounts shall be utilized: 

(i) Cook County; 
(ii) DuPage, Kane, Lake, and Will Counties; 
(iii) Bond, Calhoun, Clinton, Jersey, Macoupin, Madison, Monroe, Montgomery, Randolph, St. Clair, 

and Washington Counties; and 
(iv) All other counties of the State. 

(B) Fourteen regions for hospital fee schedule amounts shall be utilized: 
(i)  Cook, DuPage, Will, Kane, McHenry, DeKalb, Kendall, and Grundy Counties; 
(ii) Kankakee County; 
(iii) Madison, St. Clair, Macoupin, Clinton, Monroe, Jersey, Bond, and Calhoun Counties; 
(iv) Winnebago and Boone Counties; 
(v) Peoria, Tazewell, Woodford, Marshall, and Stark Counties; 
(vi) Champaign, Piatt, and Ford Counties; 
(vii) Rock Island, Henry, and Mercer Counties; 
(viii) Sangamon and Menard Counties; 
(ix) McLean County; 
(x) Lake County; 
(xi) Macon County; 
(xii)  Vermilion County; 
(xiii) Alexander County; and 
(xiv) All other counties of the State. 

(2) If a geozip, as defined in subsection (a) of this Section, overlaps into one or more of the regions set forth in 
this Section, then the Commission shall average or repeat the charges and fees in a geozip in order to 
designate charges and fees for each region. 

(3) In cases where the compiled data contains less than 9 charges or fees for a procedure, treatment, product, 
supply, or service or where the fee schedule amount cannot be determined by the non-discounted charge 
data, non-Medicare relative values and conversion factors derived from established fee schedule amounts, 
coding crosswalks, or other data as determined by the Commission, reimbursement shall occur at 76% of 
charges and fees until September 1, 2011 and 53.2% of charges and fees thereafter as determined by the 
Commission in a manner consistent with the provisions of this paragraph. 

(4) To establish additional fee schedule amounts, the Commission shall utilize provider non-discounted charge 
data, non-Medicare relative values and conversion factors derived from established fee schedule amounts, 
and coding crosswalks. The Commission may establish additional fee schedule amounts based on either the 
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charge or cost of the procedure, treatment, product, supply, or service. 
(5) Implants shall be reimbursed at 25% above the net manufacturer's invoice price less rebates, plus actual 

reasonable and customary shipping charges whether or not the implant charge is submitted by a provider in 
conjunction with a bill for all other services associated with the implant, submitted by a provider on a 
separate claim form, submitted by a distributor, or submitted by the manufacturer of the implant. 
"Implants" include the following codes or any substantially similar updated code as determined by the 
Commission: 0274 (prosthetics/orthotics); 0275 (pacemaker); 0276 (lens implant); 0278 (implants); 0540 
and 0545 (ambulance); 0624 (investigational devices); and 0636 (drugs requiring detailed coding). Non-
implantable devices or supplies within these codes shall be reimbursed at 65% of actual charge, which is 
the provider's normal rates under its standard chargemaster. A standard chargemaster is the provider's list of 
charges for procedures, treatments, products, supplies, or services used to bill payers in a consistent 
manner. 

(6) The Commission shall automatically update all codes and associated rules with the version of the codes and 
rules valid on January 1 of that year. 

 

(a-2) For procedures, treatments, services, or supplies covered under this Act and rendered or to be rendered on or 
after September 1, 2011, the maximum allowable payment shall be 70% of the fee schedule amounts, which 
shall be adjusted yearly by the Consumer Price Index-U, as described in subsection (a) of this Section. 

 

(a-3) Prescriptions filled and dispensed outside of a licensed pharmacy shall be subject to a fee schedule that shall 
not exceed the Average Wholesale Price (AWP) plus a dispensing fee of $4.18. AWP or its equivalent as 
registered by the National Drug Code shall be set forth for that drug on that date as published in Medispan. 

 

(b) Notwithstanding the provisions of subsection (a), if the Commission finds that there is a significant limitation 
on access to quality health care in either a specific field of health care services or a specific geographic 
limitation on access to health care, it may change the Consumer Price Index-U increase or decrease for that 
specific field or specific geographic limitation on access to health care to address that limitation. 

 

(c) The Commission shall establish by rule a process to review those medical cases or outliers that involve extra-
ordinary treatment to determine whether to make an additional adjustment to the maximum payment within a 
fee schedule for a procedure, treatment, or service. 

 

(d) When a patient notifies a provider that the treatment, procedure, or service being sought is for a work-related 
illness or injury and furnishes the provider the name and address of the responsible employer, the provider shall 
bill the employer directly.  The employer shall make payment and providers shall submit bills and records in 
accordance with the provisions of this Section.   
(1) All payments to providers for treatment provided pursuant to this Act shall be made within 30 days of 

receipt of the bills as long as the claim contains substantially all the required data elements necessary to 
adjudicate the bills.   

(2) If the claim does not contain substantially all the required data elements necessary to adjudicate the bill, or 
the claim is denied for any other reason, in whole or in part, the employer or insurer shall provide written 
notification, explaining the basis for the denial and describing any additional necessary data elements, to 
the provider within 30 days of receipt of the bill. 

(3) In the case of nonpayment to a provider within 30 days of receipt of the bill which contained substantially 
all of the required data elements necessary to adjudicate the bill or nonpayment to a provider of a portion of 
such a bill up to the lesser of the actual charge or the payment level set by the Commission in the fee 
schedule established in this Section, the bill, or portion of the bill, shall incur interest at a rate of 1% per 
month payable to the provider.  Any required interest payments shall be made within 30 days after 
payment. 

 

§8.2(e): Balance Billing 
 

(e) Except as provided in subsections (e-5), (e-10), and (e-15), a provider shall not hold an employee liable for 
costs related to a non-disputed procedure, treatment, or service rendered in connection with a compensable 
injury.  The provisions of subsections (e-5), (e-10), (e-15), and (e-20) shall not apply if an employee provides 
information to the provider regarding participation in a group health plan.  If the employee participates in a 
group health plan, the provider may submit a claim for services to the group health plan. If the claim for service 
is covered by the group health plan, the employee's responsibility shall be limited to applicable deductibles, co-
payments, or co-insurance.  Except as provided under subsections (e-5), (e-10), (e-15), and (e-20), a provider 
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shall not bill or otherwise attempt to recover from the employee the difference between the provider's charge 
and the amount paid by the employer or the insurer on a compensable injury, or for medical services or 
treatment determined by the Commission to be excessive or unnecessary. 

 

(e-5) If an employer notifies a provider that the employer does not consider the illness or injury to be compensable 
under this Act, the provider may seek payment of the provider's actual charges from the employee for any 
procedure, treatment, or service rendered.  Once an employee informs the provider that there is an application 
filed with the Commission to resolve a dispute over payment of such charges, the provider shall cease any and 
all efforts to collect payment for the services that are the subject of the dispute.  Any statute of limitations or 
statute of repose applicable to the provider's efforts to collect payment from the employee shall be tolled from 
the date that the employee files the application with the Commission until the date that the provider is permitted 
to resume collection efforts under the provisions of this Section. 

 

(e-10) If an employer notifies a provider that the employer will pay only a portion of a bill for any procedure, 
treatment, or service rendered in connection with a compensable illness or disease, the provider may seek 
payment from the employee for the remainder of the amount of the bill up to the lesser of the actual charge, 
negotiated rate, if applicable, or the payment level set by the Commission in the fee schedule established in this 
Section.  Once an employee informs the provider that there is an application filed with the Commission to 
resolve a dispute over payment of such charges, the provider shall cease any and all efforts to collect payment 
for the services that are the subject of the dispute.  Any statute of limitations or statute of repose applicable to 
the provider's efforts to collect payment from the employee shall be tolled from the date that the employee files 
the application with the Commission until the date that the provider is permitted to resume collection efforts 
under the provisions of this Section. 

 

(e-15) When there is a dispute over the compensability of or amount of payment for a procedure, treatment, or 
service, and a case is pending or proceeding before an Arbitrator or the Commission, the provider may mail the 
employee reminders that the employee will be responsible for payment of any procedure, treatment or service 
rendered by the provider.  The reminders must state that they are not bills, to the extent practicable include 
itemized information, and state that the employee need not pay until such time as the provider is permitted to 
resume collection efforts under this Section.  The reminders shall not be provided to any credit rating agency.  
The reminders may request that the employee furnish the provider with information about the proceeding under 
this Act, such as the file number, names of parties, and status of the case.  If an employee fails to respond to 
such request for information or fails to furnish the information requested within 90 days of the date of the 
reminder, the provider is entitled to resume any and all efforts to collect payment from the employee for the 
services rendered to the employee and the employee shall be responsible for payment of any outstanding bills 
for a procedure, treatment, or service rendered by a provider. 

 

(e-20) Upon a final award or judgment by an Arbitrator or the Commission, or a settlement agreed to by the 
employer and the employee, a provider may resume any and all efforts to collect payment from the employee 
for the services rendered to the employee and the employee shall be responsible for payment of any outstanding 
bills for a procedure, treatment, or service rendered by a provider as well as the interest awarded under 
subsection (d) of this Section.  In the case of a procedure, treatment, or service deemed compensable, the 
provider shall not require a payment rate, excluding the interest provisions under subsection (d), greater than 
the lesser of the actual charge or the payment level set by the Commission in the fee schedule established in this 
Section.  Payment for services deemed not covered or not compensable under this Act is the responsibility of 
the employee unless a provider and employee have agreed otherwise in writing. Services not covered or not 
compensable under this Act are not subject to the fee schedule in this Section. 

 

(f) Nothing in this Act shall prohibit an employer or insurer from contracting with a health care provider or group 
of health care providers for reimbursement levels for benefits under this Act different from those provided in 
this Section. 

 

(g) On or before January 1, 2010 the Commission shall provide to the Governor and General Assembly a report 
regarding the implementation of the medical fee schedule and the index used for annual adjustment to that 
schedule as described in this Section.    

(Source: P.A. 97-18, eff. 6-28-11.) 
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§8.2a: Electronic claims 
 

Section 8.2a. Electronic claims. 
(a) The Director of Insurance shall adopt rules to do all of the following: 

(1) Ensure that all health care providers and facilities submit medical bills for payment on standardized forms. 
(2) Require acceptance by employers and insurers of electronic claims for payment of medical services. 
(3) Ensure confidentiality of medical information submitted on electronic claims for payment of medical 

services. 
 

(b) To the extent feasible, standards adopted pursuant to subdivision (a) shall be consistent with existing standards 
under the federal Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act of 1996 and standards adopted under the 
Illinois Health Information Exchange and Technology Act. 

 

(c) The rules requiring employers and insurers to accept electronic claims for payment of medical services shall be 
proposed on or before January 1, 2012, and shall require all employers and insurers to accept electronic claims 
for payment of medical services on or before June 30, 2012.  

 

(d) The Director of Insurance shall by rule establish criteria for granting exceptions to employers, insurance 
carriers, and health care providers who are unable to submit or accept medical bills electronically. 

(Source: P.A. 97-18, eff. 6-28-11.) 
 

§8.3: Medical Fee Advisory Board 
 

Section 8.3.  Workers' Compensation Medical Fee Advisory Board.  There is created a Workers' Compensation 
Medical Fee Advisory Board consisting of 9 members appointed by the Governor with the advice and consent of 
the Senate.  Three members of the Advisory Board shall be representative citizens chosen from the employee class, 
3 members shall be representative citizens chosen from the employing class, and 3 members shall be representative 
citizens chosen from the medical provider class.  Each member shall serve a 4-year term and shall continue to serve 
until a successor is appointed. A vacancy on the Advisory Board shall be filled by the Governor for the unexpired 
term. 
 

Members of the Advisory Board shall receive no compensation for their services but shall be reimbursed for 
expenses incurred in the performance of their duties by the Commission from appropriations made to the 
Commission for that purpose. 
 

The Advisory Board shall advise the Commission on establishment of fees for medical services and accessibility of 
medical treatment. 
(Source: P.A. 94-277, eff. 7-20-05.) 
 

§8.7: Utilization Review 
 

Section 8.7.  Utilization review programs. 
(a) As used in this Section:  

"Utilization review" means the evaluation of proposed or provided health care services to determine the 
appropriateness of both the level of health care services medically necessary and the quality of health care 
services provided to a patient, including evaluation of their efficiency, efficacy, and appropriateness of 
treatment, hospitalization, or office visits based on medically accepted standards.  The evaluation must be 
accomplished by means of a system that identifies the utilization of health care services based on standards of 
care of nationally recognized peer review guidelines as well as nationally recognized treatment guidelines and 
evidence-based medicine based upon standards as provided in this Act.  Utilization techniques may include 
prospective review, second opinions, concurrent review, discharge planning, peer review, independent medical 
examinations, and retrospective review (for purposes of this sentence, retrospective review shall be applicable 
to services rendered on or after July 20, 2005).  Nothing in this Section applies to prospective review of 
necessary first aid or emergency treatment. 

 

(b) No person may conduct a utilization review program for workers' compensation services in this State unless 
once every 2 years the person registers the utilization review program with the Department of Insurance and 
certifies compliance with the Workers' Compensation Utilization Management standards or Health Utilization 
Management Standards of URAC sufficient to achieve URAC accreditation or submits evidence of 
accreditation by URAC for its Workers' Compensation Utilization Management Standards or Health Utilization 
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Management Standards.  Nothing in this Act shall be construed to require an employer or insurer or its 
subcontractors to become URAC accredited. 

 

(c) In addition, the Director of Insurance may certify alternative utilization review standards of national 
accreditation organizations or entities in order for plans to comply with this Section.  Any alternative utilization 
review standards shall meet or exceed those standards required under subsection (b). 

 

(d) This registration shall include submission of all of the following information regarding utilization review 
program activities: 
(1) The name, address, and telephone number of the utilization review programs. 
(2) The organization and governing structure of the utilization review programs. 
(3) The number of lives for which utilization review is conducted by each utilization review program. 
(4) Hours of operation of each utilization review program. 
(5) Description of the grievance process for each utilization review program. 
(6) Number of covered lives for which utilization review was conducted for the previous calendar year for each 

utilization review program. 
(7) Written policies and procedures for protecting confidential information according to applicable State and 

federal laws for each utilization review program. 
 

(e) A utilization review program shall have written procedures to ensure that patient-specific information obtained 
during the process of utilization review will be: 
(1) kept confidential in accordance with applicable State and federal laws; and 
(2) shared only with the employee, the employee's designee, and the employee's health care provider, and those 

who are authorized by law to receive the information.  Summary data shall not be considered confidential if 
it does not provide information to allow identification of individual patients or health care providers. 

 Only a health care professional may make determinations regarding the medical necessity of health care 
services during the course of utilization review. 

 

 When making retrospective reviews, utilization review programs shall base reviews solely on the medical 
information available to the attending physician or ordering provider at the time the health care services were 
provided. 

 

(f) If the Department of Insurance finds that a utilization review program is not in compliance with this Section, 
the Department shall issue a corrective action plan and allow a reasonable amount of time for compliance with 
the plan.  If the utilization review program does not come into compliance, the Department may issue a cease 
and desist order.  Before issuing a cease and desist order under this Section, the Department shall provide the 
utilization review program with a written notice of the reasons for the order and allow a reasonable amount of 
time to supply additional information demonstrating compliance with the requirements of this Section and to 
request a hearing.  The hearing notice shall be sent by certified mail, return receipt requested, and the hearing 
shall be conducted in accordance with the Illinois Administrative Procedure Act. 

 

(g) A utilization review program subject to a corrective action may continue to conduct business until a final 
decision has been issued by the Department. 

 

(h) The Department of Insurance may by rule establish a registration fee for each person conducting a utilization 
review program. 

 

(i) Upon receipt of written notice that the employer or the employer's agent or insurer wishes to invoke the 
utilization review process, the provider of medical, surgical, or hospital services shall submit to the utilization 
review, following accredited procedural guidelines. 
(1) The provider shall make reasonable efforts to provide timely and complete reports of clinical information 

needed to support a request for treatment.  If the provider fails to make such reasonable efforts, the charges 
for the treatment or service may not be compensable nor collectible by the provider or claimant from the 
employer, the employer's agent, or the employee.  The reporting obligations of providers shall not be 
unreasonable or unduly burdensome. 

(2) Written notice of utilization review decisions, including the clinical rationale for certification or non-
certification and references to applicable standards of care or evidence-based medical guidelines, shall be 
furnished to the provider and employee. 

(3) An employer may only deny payment of or refuse to authorize payment of medical services rendered or 
proposed to be rendered on the grounds that the extent and scope of medical treatment is excessive and 
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unnecessary in compliance with an accredited utilization review program under this Section. 
(4) When a payment for medical services has been denied or not authorized by an employer or when 

authorization for medical services is denied pursuant to utilization review, the employee has the burden of 
proof to show by a preponderance of the evidence that a variance from the standards of care used by the 
person or entity performing the utilization review pursuant to subsection (a) is reasonably required to cure 
or relieve the effects of his or her injury. 

(5) The medical professional responsible for review in the final stage of utilization review or appeal must be 
available in this State for interview or deposition; or must be available for deposition by telephone, video 
conference, or other remote electronic means. A medical professional who works or resides in this State or 
outside of this State may comply with this requirement by making himself or herself available for an 
interview or deposition in person or by making himself or herself available by telephone, video conference, 
or other remote electronic means. The remote interview or deposition shall be conducted in a fair, open, 
and cost-effective manner. The expense of interview and the deposition method shall be paid by the 
employer. The deponent shall be in the presence of the officer administering the oath and recording the 
deposition, unless otherwise agreed by the parties. Any exhibits or other demonstrative evidence to be 
presented to the deponent by any party at the deposition shall be provided to the officer administering the 
oath and all other parties within a reasonable period of time prior to the deposition. Nothing shall prohibit 
any party from being with the deponent during the deposition, at that party's expense; provided, however, 
that a party attending a deposition shall give written notice of that party's intention to appear at the 
deposition to all other parties within a reasonable time prior to the deposition. 

 

An admissible utilization review shall be considered by the Commission, along with all other evidence and 
in the same manner as all other evidence, and must be addressed along with all other evidence in the 
determination of the reasonableness and necessity of the medical bills or treatment.  Nothing in this Section 
shall be construed to diminish the rights of employees to reasonable and necessary medical treatment or 
employee choice of health care provider under Section 8(a) or the rights of employers to medical 
examinations under Section 12. 

 

(j) When an employer denies payment of or refuses to authorize payment of first aid, medical, surgical, or hospital 
services under Section 8(a) of this Act, if that denial or refusal to authorize complies with a utilization review 
program registered under this Section and complies with all other requirements of this Section, then there shall 
be a rebuttable presumption that the employer shall not be responsible for payment of additional compensation 
pursuant to Section 19(k) of this Act and if that denial or refusal to authorize does not comply with a utilization 
review program registered under this Section and does not comply with all other requirements of this Section, 
then that will be considered by the Commission, along with all other evidence and in the same manner as all 
other evidence, in the determination of whether the employer may be responsible for the payment of additional 
compensation pursuant to Section 19(k) of this Act. 

 

The changes to this Section made by this amendatory Act of the 97th General Assembly apply only to health 
care services provided or proposed to be provided on or after September 1, 2011. 

(Source: P.A. 97-18, eff. 6-28-11.) 
 


